Contact a Team Member

Our team encompasses expertise in strategic communications and university media relations, editorial content and news, digital marketing, advertising, web and digital communications, university magazine, visual communication and design, photography and videography, executive communications, online enrollment marketing and athletics marketing and sports media relations.


Strategic Communications and Marketing
Editorial Content and Storytelling

Campus-wide storytelling, including: editorial content, brand messaging, style and writing guidelines, strategic communications and content strategy for SJSU’s enterprise-wide print and digital platforms, including Washington Square magazine; marketing and communications strategy and development for divisions and colleges.

Kenneth Mashinchi
Executive Director of Strategic Content and College Marketing
kenneth.mashinchi@sjsu.edu
408-924-1748

Tiffany Harbrecht
Assistant Director of Editorial Content and Storytelling 
News beats: Business, Professional and Global Education, Graduate Studies, Office of the Provost
tiffany.harbrecht@sjsu.edu

Julia Halprin Jackson
University Writer and Copy Editor
News beats: Humanities & Arts, Social Science, Education and Student Affairs
juliah.jackson@sjsu.edu

Marcus Ismael
Marketing and Communications Program Manager
Focus area: Facilities Development and Operations/Housing
marcus.ismael@sjsu.edu

Anwyn Hurxthal
Research and Innovation Marketing and Communications Program Manager
anwyn.hurxthal@sjsu.edu

Samira Kamangar
University Advancement Marketing and Communications Program Manager
sam.kamangar@sjsu.edu

Adriana Avila
Lucas College and Graduate School of Business Marketing and Communications Program Manager
adriana.avila@sjsu.edu


Media Relations 

Media relations, crisis communications and reputation management, including the development of university statements and key messages to news media worldwide through relationships with local, national and international media outlets.

Michelle Smith McDonald
Senior Director of Media Relations
michelle.smithmcdonald@sjsu.edu
408-924-1207

Robin McElhatton
Assistant Director of Media Relations
robin.mcelhatton@sjsu.edu
408-924-1749


Digital Marketing and Web Communications

Digital marketing and communications strategy, brand messaging, content marketing, website design, SJSU web guidelines, social media engagement, email marketing, digital campaigns, display and video advertising, paid search, SEO and analytics.

Anna Augustowska
Director of Digital Marketing and Communications
anna.augustowska@sjsu.edu

Eric Harding
Digital Marketing Communications Manager
eric.harding@sjsu.edu

Monica Bosque
University Web and User Experience Designer
monica.bosque@sjsu.edu


Visual Communication and Design

Visual storytelling and design strategy, creative support for faculty and staff, SJSU visual identity and guidelines, campus-branded spaces, events and affiliate visual resources, professional video, photography, project requests, lockup requests, and brand permissions.

Michelle Frey
Senior Director of Creative Strategy
michelle.frey@sjsu.edu
408-924-1474

Roman Goshev
Digital Production Project Manager
roman.goshev@sjsu.edu
408-924-1171

Pourya Nadimi
Senior Visual Designer and Art Director
pourya.nadimi@sjsu.edu

Javier Duarte
Senior Multimedia Production Specialist
javier.duarte@sjsu.edu

Keith Sanders
Multimedia Producer
keith.sanders@sjsu.edu

Robert Bain
University Photographer
robert.bain@sjsu.edu


SJSU Online Enrollment Marketing

SJSU Online brand guidelines and messaging, enrollment funnel communications strategy, storytelling, website design, CRM management and email marketing, direct mail, integrated digital advertising campaigns, video production, social media strategy, and enrollment marketing analytics.

Kristin Ede
Senior Director of Enrollment Marketing
kristin.ede@sjsu.edu
408-924-2423

Brian Cheung Dooley
Copywriter and Content Manager
brian.cheungdooley@sjsu.edu
408-924-3315

Marc Montenegro
User Experience/Web Designer and Developer
marc.montenegro@sjsu.edu


Athletics Marketing and Sports Media Relations

UMC works closely with Athletics Communications to promote a university-wide environment that elevates the Spartan brand and builds champions in the classroom, in competition and in the community. 

Meet the Athletics Communications Team