Advising

Your success is our department’s number one priority, which is why we want to give you all the resources you may need to do your best work. On this page, you’ll be able to find your area advisors and read up on other important information.

 

Advising for Undergraduate Students

The information on this page is only one of the many ways SJSU can help you succeed. Explore the Engineering Student Success Center to see all of the advising services available for Undergraduate students.

Visit the Engineering Student Success Center


 

Transfer Students

The Engineering Student Success Center (ESSC) will invite all transfer students to attend a transfer orientation. All transfer students must attend this event.

San José State University’s articulation website can help you see if our department accepts transferred credits from classes taken at other institutions. Find articulation agreements and transferrable courses here.


 

Major Advising Hold

A Major Advising Hold is placed each semester on student accounts to prevent them from registering for classes. See any ESSC advisors to remove this hold.

Make an Appointment with an Advisor Through Spartan Connect


 

Technical Elective Requirements

Students are required to take 12 units of upper-division EE technical electives. Students can take one three-unit upper-division course from other departments OR one three-unit EE graduate-level course as an elective with pre-approval from the department.

  • For a consultation about technical electives or career paths, contact Dr. Robert Morelos-Zaragoza.

  • For advisor/chair/department approvals on all forms, make an appointment with Dr. Thuy T. Le.

 

View the Faculty Directory

Make an Appointment Through Spartan Connect


 

ENGR 100W

Students must have received a grade of “C” or better in ENGR 100W before enrolling in EE 124 or EE 198A. Note that ENGR 100W may not be waived based on Written Skills Test (WST) scores.


 

Area Advisors

 

Communications, Signal Processing, and Remote Sensing

Professor Email
Robert Morelos-Zaragoza robert.morelos-zaragoza@sjsu.edu
Birsen Sirkeci birsen.sirkeci@sjsu.edu
Chang Choo chang.choo@sjsu.edu

 

Network, Network Security, Mobile Network, and loT

Professor Email
Jonathan Ponniah jonathan.ponniah@sjsu.edu
Juzi Zhao juzi.zhao@sjsu.edu
Nader F. Mir nader.mir@sjsu.edu

 

Microprocessors, Computer, Embedded Systems, and Digital Systems

Professor Email
Binh Q. Le binh.q.le@sjsu.edu
Chang Choo chang.choo@sjsu.edu
Shrikant Jadhav shrikant.jadhav@sjsu.edu
Thuy T. Le thuy.le@sjsu.edu

 

Device Physics, Micro Electronics, and Nano Electronics

Professor Email
Lili He lili.he@sjsu.edu
David Parent david.parent@sjsu.edu
Hiu-Yung Wong hiuyung.wong@sjsu.edu

 

Analog Electronics and Integrated Circuits

Professor Email
Sotoudeh Hamedi-Hagh sotoudeh.hamedi-hagh@sjsu.edu
David Parent david.parent@sjsu.edu
Hiu-Yung Wong hiuyung.wong@sjsu.edu
Lili He lili.he@sjsu.edu

 

Power Electronics and Energy Systems

Professor Email
Mohamed Badawy mohamed.badawy@sjsu.edu
Ping Hsu ping.hsu@sjsu.edu
Hiu-Yung Wong hiuyung.wong@sjsu.edu

 

Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning

Professor Email
Robert Morelos-Zaragoza robert.morelos-zaragoza@sjsu.edu
Birsen Sirkeci birsen.sirkeci@sjsu.edu
Chang Choo chang.choo@sjsu.edu
Binh Q. Le binh.q.le@sjsu.edu
Jonathan Ponniah jonathan.ponniah@sjsu.edu
Hiu-Yung Wong hiuyung.wong@sjsu.edu

 

Control, Robotic, and Autonomous Systems

Professor Email
Ping Hsu ping.hsu@sjsu.edu
Binh Q. Le binh.q.le@sjsu.edu
Chang Choo chang.choo@sjsu.edu
Shrikant Jadhav shrikant.jadhav@sjsu.edu
Jonathan Ponniah jonathan.ponniah@sjsu.edu
Mohamed Badawy mohamed.badawy@sjsu.edu


Quantum Information and Quantum Computing

Professor Email
Hiu-Yung Wong hiuyung.wong@sjsu.edu
Thuy T. Le thuy.le@sjsu.edu