ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award Request for Proposals (RFP) 2023-2024

The SJSU Emeritus and Retired Faculty Association (ERFA) Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award was created in 2014 to support scholarly research and creative activity that advance the careers of faculty applicants. The award, now in its tenth year, is intended to support research, creative activity, virtual conference attendance, and/or acquisition of equipment related to scholarly and creative endeavors.

Faculty eligible to apply include tenure-track faculty, tenured faculty and lecturers with more than 6 years of continuous service to SJSU.

Application materials:

Application Process: Please submit and attach all appropriate application materials via our Fall 2023 ERFA grant application [docx]

Application Deadline: Proposals are due by Wednesday December 6, 2023 at 5PM  

**For more information about the ERFA Faculty Research and Creative Activity Award, please contact Lucy McProud, Co-Chair of the ERFA Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award AY 2023-2024, at

If you need assistance with your electronic submission, please contact Angelica Camino in the Center for Faculty Development at 

Past award recipients:


  • Janet Bang. Child and Adolescent Development
  • Anil Kumar. Industrial and Systems Engineering


  • Elisa Mattarelli. School of Management                          
  • Susan Ross. Department of Public Health & Recreation


  • Daryl Eggers. Chemistry
  • Ryan Skinnell. Department of English & Comparative Literature


  • Gilles Muller. Chemistry
  • Wesley Maciejewski. Mathematics
  • Melinda Simon. Biomedical Engineering


  • John Gieng. Department of Nutrition, Food Science & Packaging
  • Yoon Chung Han. Department of Design


  • Ruma Chopra. Department of History
  • Alan Soldofsky. Department of English & Comparative Literature
  • Ningkun Wang. Department of Chemistry


  • Nicole Dubus. School of Social Work
  • A.J. Faas.  Department of Anthropology


  • Faustina DuCros. Department of Sociology and Intedisciplinary Social Sciences
  • Katherine Harris.  Department of English & Comparative Literature


  • Patricia Albers. Department of Art and Art History
  • Emily Chan, Christina Mune and Kathryn Blackmer ReyesMLK Jr. Library