Faculty

Counselor Education Faculty

The Counselor Education Department faculty are committed to providing the highest quality education to all students.  We model best practices by providing a strong student-centered curriculum with an emphasis on ongoing formative feedback to help candidates develop personally, academically, and professionally.

Department Chair

Dolores DeHaro Mena, PhD
dolores.mena@sjsu.edu
408.924.3627
Sweeney Hall (SH) 405

Dolores DeHaro Mena

Faculty Directory

Imee Almazan, EdD | Lecturer
imee.almazan@sjsu.edu

Marion Beach, EdD | Lecturer
marion.schinn@sjsu.edu

Michele Burns | Lecturer
michele.burns@sjsu.edu

Lorri Capizzi, EdD | Assistant Professor
lorri.capizzi@sjsu.edu

Kyoung Mi Choi, PhD | Associate Professor
kyoungmi.choi@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @KyoungMiChoi

Jimma Cortes-Smith | Lecturer
jimma.cortes@sjsu.edu

Ashley Defensor, PhD | Lecturer
ashley.defensor@sjsu.edu

Dolores DeHaro Mena, PhD | Professor
dolores.mena@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @dmena22

Amy Gutierrez | Lecturer and Graduate Fieldwork Coordinator
amy.gutierrez@sjsu.edu

Xiaolu Hu, PhD | Professor
xiaolu.hu@sjsu.edu

Esther Hugo, EdD | Lecturer
esther.hugo@sjsu.edu

Amna Jaffer | Lecturer
amna.jaffer@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @JafferAmna

Kelly Kruger | Lecturer
kelly.kruger@sjsu.edu

Jason Laker, PhD | Professor
jason.laker@sjsu.edu
Spotify playlist

Michael Mann-Stock | Lecturer
michael.mann-stock@sjsu.edu

Brent Peterson, PhD | Lecturer
brent.petersen@sjsu.edu

Kristin Phillips-Matson | Lecturer
kristin.phillips-matson@sjsu.edu

Michelle Randle | Lecturer
michelle.randle@sjsu.edu

Devon Reckmeyer-Hibbert, PsyD | Lecturer
devon.hibbert@sjsu.edu

Latisha Roberts, EdD | Lecturer
latisha.roberts@sjsu.edu

Murry Schekman | Lecturer
murry.schekman@sjsu.edu

Shannon Stovall, PsyD | Lecturer
shannon.stovall@sjsu.edu

Aubrey Uresti, PhD | Assistant Professor
aubrey.uresti@sjsu.edu
Spotify playlist

Erika Zepeda, PsyD | Lecturer
erika.zepeda@sjsu.edu

Recent Faculty Highlights

Xiaolu HuDr. Xiaolu Hu recently received a Special Recognition Award from the Western Association for Counselor Education and Supervision (WACES) for her many years of hard work and dedication to our students, department, college, and university. 

Jason LakerDr. Jason Laker has been named the new editor of the Journal of Men’s Studies. Read the interview with Jason at mensstudies.org/Newsletters.

 

Lorri CapizziDr. Lorri Capizzi is part of a team that recently received a $300,000 grant to establish the Center for Collaborative Research Excellence in Education (CCREE). Read the press release on the Lurie College blog.

Aubrey UrestiDr. Aubrey Uresti joined the department in Fall 2020 as an Assistant Professor. Read her bio on the Lurie College blog.