Faculty

The Special Education faculty are committed to providing the highest quality education to the candidates in our program. We model best practices by providing a strong, student-centered curriculum with an emphasis on ongoing formative feedback to help candidates grow.

Department Chair

Lisa Simpson, Ed.D.
lisa.simpson@sjsu.edu
408.924.3673
Sweeney Hall (SH) 204
Twitter: @LisaSimp44932943
Lisa's Spotify playlist

Lisa Simpson

Faculty Directory

Janel Astor | Lecturer
janel.astor@sjsu.edu

Laurene Beto | Lecturer
laurene.beto@sjsu.edu

Andrea Golloher, PhD | Associate Professor
andrea.golloher@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @AGollher
Andy's Spotify playlist

Alicia Henderson | Lecturer, Fieldwork Coordinator
alicia.henderson@sjsu.edu

Peg Hughes, PhD | Professor
peg.hughes@sjsu.edu

Sudha Krishnan, EdD | Assistant Professor
sudha.v.krishnan@sjsu.edu
Sudha's Spotify playlist

Saili Kulkarni, PhD | Associate Professor
saili.kulkarni@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @DrKoolkarni
Saili's Spotify playlist

Matthew Love, PhD | Assistant Professor
matt.love@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @docmlove

Jennifer Madigan, EdD | Lecturer
jennifer.madigan@sjsu.edu
Jennifer's Spotify playlist

Shirley Ortiz | Lecturer
shirley.ortiz@sjsu.edu

Hyun-Sook Park, PhD | Professor
hyunsook.park@sjsu.edu

Vickey Perkins | Lecturer, Fieldwork Supervisor
vickey.collins@sjsu.edu

Everett Smith | Lecturer
everett.smith@sjsu.edu

Nancy Smith | Lecturer
nancy.smith@sjsu.edu

Jay Totter | Lecturer
joseph.totter@sjsu.edu

Fieldwork Supervisors

Laurene Beto
laurene.beto@sjsu.edu

Shirley Ortiz
shirley.ortiz@sjsu.edu

Vickey Perkins
vickey.collins@sjsu.edu

Nancy Smith
nancy.smith@sjsu.edu

Jay Totter
joseph.totter@sjsu.edu

Recent Faculty Highlights

Lisa Simpson

Dr. Lisa Simpson published “Opinion: Use of underprepared special ed teachers harms children” in the Mercury News.

Saili Kulkarni

Dr. Saili Kulkarni has been awarded a racial equity grant from the Spencer Foundation for her research studying the intersections of disability and race and the implications for PK-12 education, justice studies and educators. Read the feature story on the SJSU Division of Research and Innovation website.

Dr. Saili Kulkarni, along with students Samuel Bland and Monica Gonzalez, were highlighted in the recent Rethinking Schools publication for their Special Education Teachers of Color Collective. Read the highlight at bit.ly/3oa8gye.

Dr. Kulkarni also published the op-ed "South Asians Are Asians Too. When Will Our Racial Reckoning Be?" in Ms. Magazine. Read the full opinion piece at bit.ly/3aBtaRh.

Peg Hughes

Dr. Peg Hughes was featured on Zippia's Future Of The Job Market Report, along with thousands of other experts, for sharing insights around trends in the job market as a result of the pandemic, what skills stand out on resumes, and more.

Faculty Observation Forms

Supervision Fieldwork Forms

Department Supervisor Forms

EDSE 217A - M/M Preliminary ST Placement

  1. University Supervisor Checklist: Intern Last Semester [pdf]
  2. University Supervisor Checklist: Traditional Student Teacher [pdf]
  3. Credential Application Checklist [pdf]
  4. Disposition Form [pdf]
  5. Directed Teaching Form [pdf]
  6. Transition Form [pdf]
  7. Focus Group Questions [pdf]
  8. Rubric for Portfolio [pdf]
  9. Improvement Plan [pdf]
  10. Pacing Guide RSP Placement [pdf]
  11. Pacing Guide SDC Placement [pdf]

EDSE 154 - Mod/Severe (F/S) and ECSE (spring only)

  1. University Supervisor Checklist: Intern Last Semester [pdf]
  2. University Supervisor Checklist: Traditional Student Teacher [pdf]
  3. University Supervisor Checklist : ECSE - Student Teacher [pdf]
  4. University Supervisor Checklist : ECSE - Intern [pdf]
  5. Credential Application Checklist [pdf]
  6. Disposition Form [pdf]
  7. Directed Teaching Form [pdf]
  8. Transition Form [pdf]
  9. Focus Group Questions [pdf]
  10. Rubric for Portfolio [pdf]
  11. Improvement Plan [pdf]
  12. Final Evaluation Infant/Toddler Form [pdf] - ONLY ECSE program
  13. Midterm Evaluation Form  [pdf]- ONLY ECSE Program
  14. Pacing Guide RSP Placement [pdf]
  15. Pacing Guide SDC Placement [pdf]

EDSE 105 Intern Forms

  1. University Supervisor Checklist: First Semester Interns [pdf]
  2. Evaluation Form [pdf]
  3. Induction Plan [pdf]
  4. Checklist for Intern Application Packet [pdf]
  5. Collaborative Intern Program Application [pdf]
  6. IRIS Modules Instructions [pdf]
  7. Intern Agreement Form [pdf]
  8. Support Provider Application [pdf]
  9. Support Provider Job Description [pdf]
  10. Support and Supervision Record Form [pdf]
  11. Improvement Plan [pdf]