Faculty/Staff Directory

Meet the Department of Communication Studies faculty and staff!

Below is a full directory complete with contact information. We look forward to connecting with you.

If you are looking specifically for COMM faculty who teach and mentor Master's students, please visit our Graduate Faculty Directory page.

 

 

 

 

 

 COMM Faculty/Staff

Contact & Office Hours (PST)

Spartan Spirit

 

David Amancio 

Teaching Associate 

 

david.amancio@sjsu.edu
W 3pm - 4pm
(HGH 238 & Zoom

 A headshot picture of Vivian Antonellis.

Vivian Antonellis

Senior Lecturer
(She/Her)





vivian.antonellis@sjsu.edu
W 10am - 10:30am (HGH259)
W 9:30am - 10am 
Email for Zoom appointment 

 

 

A headshot of Alejandro Artiga-Purcell

 Alejandro Artiga-   Purcell

 Assistant Professor
 (He/Him)


alejandro.artiga-purcell@sjsu.edu
R 9:30am - 10:30am
(HGH 203)
W 11am - 12pm (Zoom) 

 

head shot of Bair

 Philip Bair

 Lecturer

philip.bair@sjsu.edu
TR 9am - 10am (Zoom

 head shot of biagini

 Joe Biagini

 Senior Lecturer

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu
F 9am - 10am (Zoom)

 A headshot picture of Bettina Brockmann.

Bettina Brockmann

Senior Lecturer
(She/Her)

bettina.brockmann@sjsu.edu
T 9am - 10am (Zoom
other times by appointment 

A headshot picture of Arjun Buxi.

Arjun Buxi

Senior Lecturer

arjun.buxi@sjsu.edu
M 6pm - 7pm (Zoom

headshot image of K. Cannava

 Kaitlin Cannava

 Lecturer

kaitlin.cannava@sjsu.edu
R 11am - 12pm (Zoom)

Spartan Spirit

James Capurso

Lecturer


james.capurso@sjsu.edu
M 1pm - 2pm
Email for Zoom appointment 

A headshot picture of Roxanne Cnudde.

Roxanne Cnudde

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Director
(She/Her)

 

roxanne.cnudde@sjsu.edu
R 1pm - 2pm (HGH 229)
T 2pm - 3pm (Zoom)

A headshot picture of Kristen Cole.

Kristen Cole

Associate Professor
Undergraduate Studies Program Director
(She/Her)

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu
W 5pm - 6pm (HGH 210)
T 12pm - 1pm (Zoom)

A headshot picture of Stephanie Coopman.

Stephanie Coopman 

Professor 

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Patricia Daley-Harms.

Patricia Daley-Harms

Lecturer

patricia.daley-harms@sjsu.edu
TW 3pm - 4pm (Zoom)

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Gina Firenzi

Senior Lecturer

gina.firenzi@sjsu.edu
T 8am - 10am
Email for Zoom appointment

David Galan

David Galan

Senior Lecturer

david.galan@sjsu.edu
R 5:15pm - 6:15pm
(HGH 257 and Zoom)
other times by appointment

A headshot picture of Ge Gao.

Ge Gao

Professor

ge.gao@sjsu.edu
W 3pm - 5pm 
Email for Zoom appointment 

A headshot picture of Felipe Gomez.

Felipe Gómez

Associate Professor
(He/Him)

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu
TR 3pm - 4pm (HGH 207)

A headshot picture of Rona Halulani.

Rona Halualani

Professor
(She/Her)

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu
Email for appointment
(HGH 203)

A headshot picture of Tabitha Hart.

 

Tabitha Hart 

Professor
Teaching Associate 
Program Director
Oral Communication Program Director

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu
Email for appointment
(HGH 216)

head shot of Hasan

 Zaki Hasan

 Senior Lecturer

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu
F 10am - 11am (Zoom)

A headshot picture of Lucas Hatton.

Lucas Hatton

Lecturer
(He/Him)

lucas.hatton@sjsu.edu
MW 10:30am - 11:30am
(HGH 237)
Email for Zoom appointment 

A headshot picture of Oona Hatton.

Oona Hatton

Associate Professor

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu
T 9am - 10am 
R 12pm -1pm 
(HGH 204 and Zoom)

A headshot picture of Marie Haverfield.

Marie Haverfield

Associate Professor
Graduate Studies Program Director
(She/Her)

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu
W 2pm - 4pm (Zoom)

A headshot picture of Minna Holopainen.

Minna Holopainen

Senior Lecturer
Social Media Team Director

minna.holopainen@sjsu.edu
M 4pm - 5pm (Zoom)

Chloe Huynh

 Chloe Huynh

 Teaching Associate
 (She/Her)

chloe.huynh@sjsu.edu
W 1:30pm - 2:30pm
(HGH 238)

A headshot picture of Anya Iyengar.

Anya Iyengar

Senior Lecturer
(She/Her)

anya.iyengar@sjsu.edu
MTW 6pm - 7pm (Zoom)

A headshot picture of Kyle Johnson.

Kyle Johnson

Senior Lecturer
(He/Him)

kyle.johnson@sjsu.edu
T 10:30am - 11:30am (Zoom)

 

Spartan Spirit

Tyler Kyte

Teaching Associate

tyler.kyte@sjsu.edu
M 10:30am - 11:30am
(HGH 238)
Email for Zoom appointment 

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tina Lim

Senior Lecturer

tina.lim@sjsu.edu
T 11am - 12pm (HGH 214)


 

Eric Martinez

 Eric Martinez

 Teaching Associate

eric.martinez01@sjsu.edu
W 12pm - 1pm (HGH 240)

Photo of spartan

Amarissa Mathews

Lecturer

amarissa.mathews@sjsu.edu
Email for Zoom appointment 

A headshot picture of Kathleen McConell.

Kathleen McConnell

Professor
Writing and Engagement Across the Curriculum Director

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Sarah McGaffey

 Sarah McGaffey

 Senior Lecturer

sarah.mcgaffey@sjsu.edu
TR 1:30pm - 2pm (Zoom)
M 4:30pm - 5:30pm (Zoom) 

A headshot picture of Morgan McKnight

Morgan McKnight

Lecturer

morgan.mcknight@sjsu.edu
W 9:50am - 10:50am 
Zoom information on Canvas

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Beth McMurray

Senior Lecturer

elizabeth.mcmurray@sjsu.edu
Email for Zoom appointment 

 A headshot of Nikki Mirza

 Nikki Mirza

 Administrative Analyst

nikki.mirza@sjsu.edu
M - Thur: 8am - 5pm
Available remotely on 
F: 8am - 5pm

A headshot picture of Jennifer Morrison

Jennifer Morrison

Senior Lecturer
Advising Director
(They/Them)

jennifer.morrison@sjsu.edu
T 10am - 11:30am
Zoom information on Canvas

Beth Noronha

 Beth Noronha

 Department Coordinator

beth.noronha@sjsu.edu
M - Thur: 8am - 5pm
Available remotely on
F: 8am - 5pm

A headshot of Nancy Park

Nancy Park

Lecturer
(She/Her)

nancy.park@sjsu.edu
T 12pm - 1pm (HGH 257)
Email for Zoom appointment 

A headshot picture of Rahmon Pashtunyar.

Rahmon Pashtunyar

Lecturer
(He/Him)

rahmon.pashtunyar@sjsu.edu
MW 1pm - 1:30pm (HGH 257)

A headshot picture of Nico Peck

Nico Peck 

Senior Lecturer
(They/Them)

nico.peck@sjsu.edu
MW 1pm - 3pm
(HG229 and Zoom

A headshot picture of Carol Lynn Perez.

Carol-Lynn Perez

Senior Lecturer
Communication Studies Internship Program Director

carol-lynn.perez@sjsu.edu
T 2pm - 4pm (Zoom)

A headshot picture of Dana Pozzi.

Dana Pozzi

Senior Lecturer
(She/Her)

dana.morella@sjsu.edu
TR 2:30pm - 3pm (HGH 209)
Email for Zoom appointment 

 

Ashiyan Rahmani

 Ashiyan Rahmani

 Lecturer

ashiyan.rahmani@sjsu.edu
T 12pm - 2pm (Zoom)

headshot image of K. Raiff

 Kathleen Raiff

 Senior Lecturer

kathleen.raiff@sjsu.edu
TR 11am - 12pm (HGH 208)

A headshot picture of Priya Raman.

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

priya.raman@sjsu.edu
MW 12pm - 1pm 
Zoom information on Canvas 

Head shot of Ramos

 David Ramos

 Lecturer

david.a.ramos@sjsu.edu
W 10:30am - 11:30am
(HGH 259)
Email for Zoom appointment 

A headshot picture of Leif Rogers.

Leif Rogers

Lecturer
(He/Him)

leif.rogers@sjsu.edu
T 12pm - 1pm (HGH 209)

Spartan Spirit

Monica Silveira

Teaching Associate

monica.silveira@sjsu.edu
R 4pm - 5pm (HGH 240)
Email for Zoom appointment 

Matt Spangler

 Matthew Spangler 

 Professor
 Interim Chair, Film and   Theatre Department

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Ching Ching Tan

Ching Ching Tan 

Senior Lecturer

chingching.tan@sjsu.edu
MW 12:30pm - 1pm
(HGH 209)
Email for Zoom appointment 

head shot of ulate 

 Jody Ulate

 Lecturer

jody.ulate@sjsu.edu
R 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Email for Zoom appointment 

Leigh Via

 Leigh Via

 Teaching Associate
 (She/Her)

leigh.via@sjsu.edu
R 2:45pm - 3:45pm
(HGH 240)
Email for Zoom appointment 

Head shot of Walsh

 Lindsay Walsh

 Lecturer
 (She/Her)

lindsay.walsh@sjsu.edu
R 3:30pm - 4:30pm
(HGH 259)

A headshot picture of Kendall Ward

Kendall Ward

Senior Lecturer
(She/Her)

kendall.ward@sjsu.edu
R 10:30am - 11:30am
(HGH 259)
Email for Zoom appointment 

 

A headshot picture of Kathy Werking

Kathy Werking

Senior Lecturer

kathy.werking@sjsu.edu
M 6pm - 9pm (Zoom)
other times by appointment

A headshot picture of Karen Williams.

ren (Karen) Williams

Senior Lecturer
(She/Her)

karen.williams@sjsu.edu
M 8:15am – 8:45am 
M 2:15pm – 2:45pm 
(HGH 208)
other times by appointment

Headshot Dr. Andrew F. Wood

 Andrew Wood 

 Professor
 Department Chair

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Kim Yee.

Kim Yee

Lecturer
(She/Her)

kim.yee@sjsu.edu
Email for appointment